New ag leaders now part of Congress, USDA


Gene Lucht, Iowa Farmer Today

via AgUpdate - Jul 16, 2021


This past year has brought a new presidential administration to Washington, D.C., and also new leadership to Congress. With that in mind, here are brief profiles of a few of the leaders in agriculture at the national level.


Senate Agriculture Committee


The chair is Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich. Stabenow is a native of Michigan who earned bachelorís and masterís degrees from Michigan State University...

House Agriculture Committee


U.S. Rep. David Scott, D-Georgia, is chair of the House Agriculture Committee, where he succeeded Collin Peterson of Minnesota after Peterson lost his bid for re-election last year...




Tom Vilsack is in the history-making position of serving as U.S. Secretary of Agriculture for the second time...