USDA Designates Three Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas


Oklahoma Farm Report

19 Mar 2020


Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated three Oklahoma counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Cimarron, Texas, and Tillman counties who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.


This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.


Producers in the contiguous Oklahoma counties of Beaver, Comanche, Cotton, Jackson, and Kiowa, along with Baca County, Colorado; Morton, Seward, and Stevens counties in Kansas; Union County, New Mexico; and Dallam, Hansford, Ochiltree, Sherman, Wichita, and Wilbarger counties in Texas, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.


The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 7, 2020.


FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability...