Organic Farmers Association Announces Newly Elected Governing Council and Policy Committee


BY Organic Farmers Association

via KTIC (NE) - March 11, 2019


The Organic Farmers Association is a national membership body of American organic farmers. The Associationís mission is to provide a strong and unified national voice for domestic certified organic producers. Its purpose is to build and support a farmer-led national organic farmer movement and national policy platform by: developing and advocating for policies that benefit organic farmers; strengthening and supporting the capacity of organic farmers and farm organizations; and supporting collaboration and leadership among state, regional and national organic farmer organizations.


Members of the Organic Farming Association are represented by a Governing Council, Advisory Committee, and Policy Committee. Recently, new representatives were elected to the Governing Council and Policy Committee for 2019. These representatives will serve 2-year terms, up to 3 consecutive terms (no more than 6 consecutive years). Newly elected members begin their terms at the annual meeting on March 13, 2019 in Washington, D.C.


2019 Governing Council


The Council includes 19 members. From each of the six regions, the council includes 2 certified organic farmers and 1 organic farm organization.† In addition, Organic Farmers Associationís fiscal sponsor, Rodale Institute, also has a seat on the council. All Council Members have identical rights and responsibilities, except that only farmer members have the right to vote. The fiscal sponsor, if it has a certified organic farm, also has a vote.


* = Newly elected


Farmers (Voting)


California Farmer Representatives

*Judith Redmond, Full Belly Farm, Guinda, CA


Steve Beck, Kings River Produce, Inc., Hanford, CA


Midwest Region Farmer Representatives

*Dave Bishop, PrairiErth Farm, Atlanta, IL


Joannee DeBruhl, Stone Coop Farm, Brighton, MI


North Central Region Farmer Representatives

*Mike Kelly, High Meadow Farm, Johnson Creek, WI


Harriet Behar, Sweet Springs Farm, Spring Valley, WI


Western Region Farmer Representatives

*Nathaniel Powell-Palm, Cold Springs Organics, Bozeman, MT


Jessica Gigot, Harmony Fields, Bow, WA


Southern Region Farmer Representatives

Jennifer Taylor, Lolaís Organic Farm, Glenwood, GA


*Loretta Adderson, Addersonís Fresh Produce, Keysville, GA


Northeast Region Farmer Representatives

David Colson, New Leaf Farm, Durham, ME


*Maryrose Livingston, Northland Sheep Dairy, Marathon, NY


Advisory (Non-Voting)


California Organization Representative

Phil LaRocca, Chair, California Certified Organic Farmers (CCOF)


Midwest Region Organization Representative

Renee Hunt, Program Director, Ohio Ecological Food and Farm Association (OEFFA)


North Central Region Organization Representative

*David Perkins, President, Midwest Organic & Sustainable Education Service (MOSES)


Western Region Organization Representative

Becky Weed, Board of Directors, Montana Organic Association (MOA)


Southern Region Organization Representative

*Michael Sligh, Program Director, Rural Advancement Foundation International (RAFI-USA)


Northeast Region Organization Representative

*Ed Maltby, Executive Director, Northeast Organic Dairy Producers Alliance (NODPA)


Sponsor Seat

Jeff Tkach, Rodale Institute


2019 Policy Committee ...